Let’s Get Personal

Alright, I had to dig through my photographic archives to come up with the exact pictures that made me think, “Oh my gosh, I have to change something!”

I’m sure we all have an outfit we believe accentuates the good while disguising the bad, right? Then later we look back in horrified disgust and realize no, that shirt did not hide my belly fat! My moment came almost exactly 5 years ago. I took a few Mother’s Day pictures with my (then 5 and 2 year old) children. Dressed up in our Sunday best and lookin’ groovy! Or so I thought…

Admittedly, these aren’t the worst, but they’re far from the image of myself that I had in my head! As soon as I saw those pictures I decided that a drastic change was needed. The journey was not easy, and there were lots of ups and downs, but I never gave up.

Realistic expectations need to be part of goal-setting. I wasn’t going to change my eating and exercise habits overnight and become a professional body builder within a month! (That’s not my goal, for the record…) So I had to start small and change one thing at a time until I was able to gradually work myself up to where I am now.

After

5 years later and I can honestly say that I have never felt better or more confident about myself and my body! Am I perfect? No way! But part of the journey is doing your part for your own personal health and appreciating the results. I experimented with many different workout regiments and eating programs and I tried to apply aspects from each one of them. No program is a “one size fits all.” Find what works for you and keep at it one day at a time.

I love the strength that I’ve acquired and am proud of the daily efforts that got me to this stage in my health and fitness voyage!

So what’s the real point of all my blathering?

  • Set realistic goals
  • Don’t give up
  • Changes don’t happen overnight!

One thought on “Let’s Get Personal

Leave a Reply

